Book Club: Jackaby!

Our next book club book is IN! You chose Jackaby for our next read, and this Sherlocky historical paranormal will be a fun pre-Spring Break read.

We have copies behind the desk, and we’ll see you March 8th before school in the fiction section!

JACKABY (Jackaby, #1) by William Ritter

Jackaby Poster“Miss Rook, I am not an occultist,” Jackaby said. “I have a gift that allows me to see truth where others see the illusion–and there are many illusions. All the world’s a stage, as they say, and I seem to have the only seat in the house with a view behind the curtain.”

Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary–including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain it’s a nonhuman creature, whose existence the police–with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane–deny.

Doctor Who meets Sherlock in William Ritter’s debut novel, which features a detective of the paranormal as seen through the eyes of his adventurous and intelligent assistant in a tale brimming with cheeky humor and a dose of the macabre.

 

March Madness is Back!

Are you ready for this year’s March Madness? We’ve got your literary edition right here. You’ll be getting an email from the library soon to start the first round of voting!

Votes will be tallied at the end of each week and we’ll move up the books and start the next round on Mondays. Here’s what you can look forward to in the first round.

 

    

So those are this year’s qualifiers! Don’t forget to come in and fill out your bracket–if you turn it in before the first week’s results are posted, you’ll be entered to win a prize! The closest bracket wins.

battle of the books 2016

Susan Dennard is Coming!

That’s right, we have an author coming to LFHS!

Truthwitch banner gif

susan dennard author photoSusan Dennard is the New York Times Bestselling author of Truthwitch, the first installment in the Witchlands series, and the Something Strange and Deadly Trilogy.

Want a chance to work with a bestselling author on your writing? After an auditorium presentation 3rd period, she’ll be doing creative writing workshops for English classes! Be sure to talk to your teacher about signing up.

Stay tuned for her official itinerary.

More about the books!

TRUTHWITCH, (Witchlands, #1) by Susan Dennard

Continue reading

Book Club: The Fixer

Our next Book Club meeting is February 9th at 7:15AM! We’ll see you in the fiction section for donuts and discussion–and boy, will we have a lot to discuss. This book will have you turning pages so fast you’ll get paper cuts.

Interested in joining book club this semester? Just stop into the library and get a copy of the book!

THE FIXER (The Fixer, #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

Top Ten Books of January

With a new semester of Reading Workshop ahead of us, you checked out a lot of books last month! Here are LFHS’s Top Ten reads of 2016.

10. ILLUMINAE (The Illumine Files, #1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

9.  Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith

Ida Mae Jones dreams of flight. Her daddy was a pilot and being black didn’t stop him from fulfilling his dreams. But her daddy’s gone now, and being a woman, and being black, are two strikes against her.

When America enters the war with Germany and Japan, the Army creates the WASP, the Women Airforce Service Pilots – and Ida suddenly sees a way to fly as well as do something significant to help her brother stationed in the Pacific. But even the WASP won’t accept her as a black woman, forcing Ida Mae to make a difficult choice of “passing,” of pretending to be white to be accepted into the program. Hiding one’s racial heritage, denying one’s family, denying one’s self is a heavy burden. And while Ida Mae chases her dream, she must also decide who it is she really wants to be.

8. Don’t Put Me In Coach: My Journey from the End of the Bench to the End of the Bench by Mark Titus

An irreverent, hilarious insider’s look at big-time NCAA basketball, through the eyes of the nation’s most famous benchwarmer and author of the popular blog ClubTrillion.com (3.6m visits!). Mark Titus holds the Ohio State record for career wins, and made it to the 2007 national championship game. You would think Titus would be all over the highlight reels. You’d be wrong.

In 2006, Mark Titus arrived on Ohio State’s campus as a former high school basketball player who aspired to be an orthopedic surgeon. Somehow, he was added to the elite Buckeye basketball team, given a scholarship, and played alongside seven future NBA players on his way to setting the record for most individual career wins in Ohio State history. Think that’s impressive? In four years, he scored a grand total of nine—yes, nine—points.

This book will give readers an uncensored and uproarious look inside an elite NCAA basketball program from Titus’s unique perspective. In his four years at the end of the bench, Mark founded his wildly popular blog Club Trillion, became a hero to all guys picked last, and even got scouted by the Harlem Globetrotters. Mark Titus is not your average basketball star. This is a wild and completely true story of the most unlikely career in college basketball. A must-read for all fans of March Madness and college sports! Continue reading