Top Ten Books of April

May is finally here–out last full month of school! It’s a short six weeks til summer, but if you have time between finals prep and AP tests, we recommend unwinding with a good book! It cuts stress faster than any other activity.

This month’s top ten are an interesting mix, heavy on contemporary thrillers and diversity.

10. The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

9.  Blind by Rachel DeWoskin

When Emma Sasha Silver loses her eyesight in a nightmare accident, she must relearn everything from walking across the street to recognizing her own sisters to imagining colors. One of seven children, Emma used to be the invisible kid, but now it seems everyone is watching her. And just as she’s about to start high school and try to recover her friendships and former life, one of her classmates is found dead in an apparent suicide. Fifteen and blind, Emma has to untangle what happened and why – in order to see for herself what makes life worth living.

Unflinching in its portrayal of Emma’s darkest days, yet full of hope and humor, Rachel DeWoskin’s brilliant Blind is one of those rare books that utterly absorbs the listener into the life and experience of another. Continue reading

Series to Binge On: Dystopias

Maybe it’s the social studies nerd in me, but I love a good fallen society! Dystopias are what we call “soft science fiction”–science fiction based on humanity rather than technology (which is hard science fiction) though many have pretty awesome tech too.

We’ve compiled a list of some of our favorite completed series for you to read! There’s nothing worse than falling in love with characters, only to have to wait a year for the sequel.

These series are, for better or worse, finished and waiting for you!

DELIRIUM Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

delirium series banner

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe.

I wonder whether the procedure will hurt.
I want to get it over with.
It’s hard to be patient.
It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet.
Still, I worry.
They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness.
The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t. Continue reading

Hidden Gems: Dystopias

There are books in the library you haven’t read. Maybe you forgot the title, maybe you heard about it and got too busy, or maybe you just never knew these books existed. So we’re featuring Hidden Gems of the library, some of our favorite books from each genre that you should check out.

With the release Mockingjay – Part 1 just around the corner, we thought we’d make a list of awesome dystopias.

Did you like Divergent? The Maze Runner? Hunger Games?

Those are a genre called dystopia. “An imagined place or state in which everything is unpleasant or bad, typically a totalitarian or environmentally degraded one,” means dystopias make for a great novel settings. They can be everything from aliens to zombies, prisons to palaces, and everything in between.

Here’s a long list of great dystopias you didn’t know you want to read!

FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH by Carrie Ryan (Forest of Hands and Teeth #1)

THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH

In Mary’s world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future—between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?

INSIGNIA by S.J. Kincaid

INSIGNIA

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid’s fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender’s Game.

The planet’s natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn’t seem like a hero. He’s a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom’s life completely changes. Suddenly, he’s someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there’s a price to pay. . .

THE HOST by Stephenie Meyer

THE HOST

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Continue reading