Author Caitlin Alifirenka Visits LFHS!

Those able to attend the author visit this month were treated to something extraordinary. Caitlin Alifirenka visited LFHS on October 18 and shared the true story of how one class assignment changed the course of her life. She also made LFHS students an interesting offer.

IMG_2016Here’s part of her story. In 7th grade, Caitlin’s teacher announced it was the final year of the pen-pal project and that every student in the class must pick a country they’d be interested in sending a letter to. Her interest was peaked, and wanting to break with convention, Caitlin picked the last country on the list, Zimbabwe, and her adventure began. In Africa, Martin Ganda received her letter because he was the smartest student in his class of 50, and when he responded, their friendship over the years across thousands of miles – and who knows how many letters – impacted their lives and steered them both in completely awesome directions.

IMG_1994Caitlin and Martin wrote the book I Will Always Write Back with the help of Liz Welch, sharing the actual letters they sent each other and telling the rest of their story. Caitlin offered to match LFHS students, based on age, with international students in Thailand and Zimbabwe but made it known that our students would have to initiate the letter writing. She shared how the kindness that developed between her and Martin became contagious, the theme of her talk:  Kindness is Contagious.

Her offer still stands so contact Caitlin if you’re interested in making a new international friend. Find her on social media here:
Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr or Instagram. IMG_2005Are you up for the adventure?

Here’s Caitlin signing our author wall in the Silent Study Room as well as Martin and Caitlin’s podcast by PW KidsCast. You can also check out their book from our library.IMG_2018

Susan Dennard is Coming!

That’s right, we have an author coming to LFHS!

Truthwitch banner gif

susan dennard author photoSusan Dennard is the New York Times Bestselling author of Truthwitch, the first installment in the Witchlands series, and the Something Strange and Deadly Trilogy.

Want a chance to work with a bestselling author on your writing? After an auditorium presentation 3rd period, she’ll be doing creative writing workshops for English classes! Be sure to talk to your teacher about signing up.

Stay tuned for her official itinerary.

More about the books!

TRUTHWITCH, (Witchlands, #1) by Susan Dennard

Continue reading

Author Visit! Come Meet Peter Kujawinski

We are excited to announce Peter Kujawinski will be stopping by LFHS on his NIGHTFALL tour! Perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, who like their books full of running, monsters, and terrifying settings, Nightfall is about an island where the sun sets for 14 years, the monsters that come out in the Night, and the three teens who are trapped there with them.

He’ll be here October 29th during 4th and 5th periods in the library classroom. (Not your lunch? Come get a field trip form from the circulation desk!)

PeterKujawinskicArleneWeinsier-1442933116For eighteen years, Peter Kujawinski was an American diplomat, on assignment in places like Israel, Haiti, France, and at the United Nations in New York.  Most recently, he was the U.S. Consul General in western Canada, which included Alberta, Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories.  While working as a diplomat, he started to write for adults and children.  Nightfall is his fourth novel with co-author Jake Halpern, they also wrote the Dormia trilogy (Dormia, World’s End and Shadow Tree).  He lives in Chicago with his family.  For more information, please go to www.peterkujawinski.com Continue reading