The Mob, Mafia, and Other Organized Crime Novels

Thieves. Mafia bosses. Drug lords. Outlaws. Mob lawyers.

All the way back to the tales of Robin Hood, we’ve loved stories about thieves and the criminal underworld–whether the characters have a heart of gold or not. Here are the best books from our collection that fit the bill!

SON OF THE MOB (Son of the Mob, #1) by Gordon Korman

Vince Luca is just like any other high school guy. His best friend, Alex, is trying to score vicariously through him; his brother is a giant pain; and his father keeps bugging him to get motivated. There is just one thing that really sets him apart for other kidshis father happens to be the head of a powerful crime organization. Needless to say, while Vince’s family’s connections can be handy for certain things-like when teachers are afraid to give him a bad grade as they can put a serious crimp in his dating life. How is he supposed to explain to a girl what his father does for a living? But when Vince finally meets one who seems to be worth the trouble, her family turns out to be the biggest problem of all. Because her father is an FBI agent-the one who wants to put his father away for good.

THE GODFATHER by Mario Puzo

More than thirty years ago, a classic was born. A searing novel of the Mafia underworld, The Godfather introduced readers to the first family of American crime fiction, the Corleones, and the powerful legacy of tradition, blood, and honor that was passed on from father to son. With its themes of the seduction of power, the pitfalls of greed, and family allegiance, it resonated with millions of readers across the world—and became the definitive novel of the virile, violent subculture that remains steeped in intrigue, in controversy, and in our collective consciousness.

ARTEMIS FOWL (Artemis Fowl, #1) by Eoin Colfer

Twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl is a millionaire, a genius—and, above all, a criminal mastermind. But even Artemis doesn’t know what he’s taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. These aren’t the fairies of bedtime stories; these fairies are armed and dangerous. Artemis thinks he has them right where he wants them…but then they stop playing by the rules.

Continue reading

Hidden Gems: Dystopias

There are books in the library you haven’t read. Maybe you forgot the title, maybe you heard about it and got too busy, or maybe you just never knew these books existed. So we’re featuring Hidden Gems of the library, some of our favorite books from each genre that you should check out.

With the release Mockingjay – Part 1 just around the corner, we thought we’d make a list of awesome dystopias.

Did you like Divergent? The Maze Runner? Hunger Games?

Those are a genre called dystopia. “An imagined place or state in which everything is unpleasant or bad, typically a totalitarian or environmentally degraded one,” means dystopias make for a great novel settings. They can be everything from aliens to zombies, prisons to palaces, and everything in between.

Here’s a long list of great dystopias you didn’t know you want to read!

FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH by Carrie Ryan (Forest of Hands and Teeth #1)

THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH

In Mary’s world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future—between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?

INSIGNIA by S.J. Kincaid

INSIGNIA

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid’s fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender’s Game.

The planet’s natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn’t seem like a hero. He’s a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom’s life completely changes. Suddenly, he’s someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there’s a price to pay. . .

THE HOST by Stephenie Meyer

THE HOST

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Continue reading